ASEAN-NDI Secretariat Hosts ASEAN-US Fellow

The Department of Science and Technology - Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (DOST-PCHRD) hosts a post-doctoral fellow under the ASEAN - US Science and Technology Fellows Pilot Program. The Fellows Pilot Program was officially introduced on April 1, 2014 with an orientation and launching event at the ASEAN Secretariat Office in Jakarta, Indonesia.

ASEAN, USAID leaders in coordination with AAAS launched the ASEAN - US Science and Technology Fellows Pilot Program. (Front row, left to right) Cynthia Robinson (AAAS S&T Policy Fellowship Director), James Moriarty (Ambassador, ASEAN-US PROGRESS), Jennifer Wilson (Senior ASEAN Affairs Officer), Teguh Rahardjo (APAST focal point), Norman Neureiter (AAAS Center for Science, Technology & Security Policy Director), Theresa Leonardo (S&T Advisor, USAID/RDMA), and Alexander Lim (ASEAN Secretariat on S&T). (Back row, left to right) Dimas Adekhrisna (ASEAN Secretariat Officer), supervisor of Indonesian fellow, Honglada Thoetkiattikul (Thailand), Anh Tung Pham and Pham Thi Thanh Nga (Vietnam), Mie Mie Kyaw (Myanmar), Rita Andini and Diah Marganingrum (Indonesia), Maria Ruth Pineda (Philippines), Win Maw Hlaing Oo (Myanmar), and Carinan Rebulanan (supervisor of Philippine Fellow).

The areas covered by the Program include: health, climate change, food security, early warning systems for disaster risk reduction, water management, and biodiversity.

The ASEAN - US Science and Technology through the US Mission to ASEAN (USASEAN) in coordination with the US American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science & Technology Policy Fellowship Program selected eight post-doctoral fellows from ASEAN member countries. The eight fellows and the areas they will be working on are:  Maria Ruth Pineda on health (Philippines), Diah Marganingrum on water management (Indonesia), Rita Andini on biodiversity (Indonesia), Mie Mie Kyaw on biodiversity (Myanmar), Win Maw Hlaing Oo on climate change or early warning systems for disaster risk reduction (Myanmar), Honglada Thoetkiattikul on biodiversity (Thailand), Anh Tung Pham on climate change (Vietnam), and Pham Thi Thanh Nga on early warning systems for disaster risk reduction (Vietnam). The fellows will be working on their respective host ministries for one year to promote the use of the best available science to inform the national and ASEAN regional policy process; advance ASEAN regional cooperation on science and technology; build institutional capacity within ASEAN and between ASEAN and the United States to study regional and transboundary issues; and deepen people to people interaction between ASEAN and US scientists.

The Philippine Fellow, Dr. Maria Ruth Pineda, will be hosted by DOST-PCHRD. Dr. Pineda will be involved on the planning and implementation of R & D collaboration among ASEAN countries through drafting of policy recommendations on research projects prioritization criteria; on guidelines on Prioritizing R & D projects for the ASEAN Network for Drugs, Diagnostics, Vaccines, and Traditional Medicines Innovation (ASEAN-NDI) - the Network hosted by the DOST-PCHRD; on selection criteria for the community of experts; on organizing a writeshop to develop an ASEAN-wide R & D proposal; on developing ASEAN-NDI quarterly newsletter; on simplifying assessment or mapping capabilities’ survey for ASEAN countries; and on building leadership, strategic planning, and diplomacy skills.

ASEAN – US Fellows (from left to right: Honglada - Thailand, Dini - Indonesia, Diah - Indonesia, Mie - Myanmar, Anh - Vietnam, Nga - Vietnam, Ruth - Philippines, and Win - Myanmar).


Only registered users can post comments.